Mixing Klipsch Speakers for Home Theater? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Mixing Klipsch Speakers for Home Theater?

Wallis
02-11-2004, 07:29 AM
I'm in the market for a good 5.1 speaker system. I'm thinking about going with four Klipsch SS-1 surround speakers, the Klipsch RSW-10 subwoofer, and either the Klipsch SC-1 or the B.I.C. America DV62CLR center channel. What do people think about this? I'm concerned about mixing and matching different quality speakers, even from the same manufacturer.

Worf101
02-11-2004, 09:31 AM
I've owned a lot of Klipsch speakers over the years and plenty of BIC gear as well.. I've a few suggestions.

First, I wouldn't go with SS-1 surrounds. Surrounds don't make good mains. Get yourself a new or used set of KSB-3's or SB-3's for mains and used the SS-1's for surrounds.

Second. Either the SC-1 or the BIC- 62CLR are great center's you can't go wrong with either one.

I've no experience with Klipsch subs. I'd recommend getting a Hsu VTF-2, best sub for the money around, delivered to your door.

Da Worfster

Wallis
02-11-2004, 12:21 PM
Thanks. I guess I revealed my ignorance when I said that I would use four surrounds. I gather that you don't think it's important to mate the subwoofer to the rest of the speaker system? My impression is that you can mix and match there without the same type of problems that you might encounter elsewhere.

brigrizzme
02-11-2004, 12:58 PM
BIC and Klipsch have different dB. ratings. This would not be a good match.

Wallis
02-11-2004, 03:53 PM
Thanks. I've elected not to go with Klipsch.

This Guy
02-11-2004, 05:51 PM