Newbie speaker help: Axiom? Paradigm? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie speaker help: Axiom? Paradigm?

cpt998
12-25-2006, 01:10 PM
Newbie here, I apologize in advance for my ignorance.

I can spend at most around $700 on my setup. I have a relatively small studio.

Someone recommended Axiom m22's (460 USD). Others have suggested Paradigm.

I will be using an mp3 player and CD's to play music (I believe I will I will need a receiver, I'll worry about that later, I want the speakers first).

What do you guys recommend? I don't want a huge home theatre setup, I don't have the space. I want high quality speakers that sound great. Any recommendations? Bookshelf/floorstanding speakers are a plus.

Thanks for the advice
Ryan

elapsed
12-25-2006, 01:58 PM
Is the $700 budget for speakers, or for speakers plus stereo receiver?

cpt998
12-25-2006, 02:20 PM
I would hope to spend less than $700 on speakers. If I can get great speakers for $700, I'll buy them.

So it could go either way. Much appreciated.

Mark111867
12-25-2006, 03:15 PM
Hi. At your price range I would check out the Paradigm Studio 20's. There are a lot of optoins in your price range. The Cambridge Soundworks Newton M80 is another option ($500 USD). What kind of music do you listen to? Monitor Audio and Wharfedale have some options in your price range as well. Good luck.

cpt998
12-25-2006, 03:43 PM
Hi. At your price range I would check out the Paradigm Studio 20's. There are a lot of optoins in your price range. The Cambridge Soundworks Newton M80 is another option ($500 USD). What kind of music do you listen to? Monitor Audio and Wharfedale have some options in your price range as well. Good luck.

I listen to rock. I definitely want something that will accommodate vocals. I rarely listen to anything with deep bass (hip hop, etc..). I do want something that would work if I were to listen to this type of music, however.