DIY Turntable - This is how I spent my afternoon [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : DIY Turntable - This is how I spent my afternoon

squeegy200
12-24-2006, 05:43 PM
I've always been curious enough to build one of my own turntables. Although my current turntable setup is quite capable, I've always had a desire to DIY and make my own from scratch.

I've read a few DIYers doing this very same experiment on some of the other audio forums. Since I've never done this before, I thought it would be wise to experiment using inexpensive materials until a satisfactory design can be reached. I started with two layers of MDF just to layout a prototype of my initial design. Its nothing like my initial drawings which are far too complex for my skills, available tools, and budget. So I am starting very simply with a flat plinth and belt driven platter. Im also still exploring sources for other parts.

Since today was a nice sunny afternoon with no prior obligations, this was an opportune time to spend a few hours in the shop in front of the table saw laying this out. I scavenged an NAD 5125 turntable for the first mechanical parts. It's readily available and a very good source for such items.

Enclosed are some pictures of my initial prototype. It's not at the listening stages just yet. But I've already solved a few challenges just from going through the exercise.

I've not decided on final materials just yet. Acrylic? or Wood? I've also explored the idea of Corian as a plinth material.

Any suggestions, criticisms, or feedback is welcomed.

-Les

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v78/squeegy200/DIY%20Turntable/tt1.jpg?t=1167009923
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v78/squeegy200/DIY%20Turntable/boards.jpg?t=1167010580
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v78/squeegy200/DIY%20Turntable/motor.jpg?t=1167010633
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v78/squeegy200/DIY%20Turntable/tt2.jpg?t=1167010662

jrhymeammo
12-24-2006, 11:24 PM