AR Turntable [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : AR Turntable

Theo
12-23-2006, 04:21 PM
I have recently come to own an AR Turntable-ARXE.
It is in good working order although I plan on getting new belts.
I am only getting sound out of one of my two speaker though.
The rest of the system is brand new and I am assuming that
I need to replace the stylus..?
Inside the cartridge head that holds the stylus (Excuse me if the terms are off-
I am new to this-I see 'Empire MK IV'.
I have searched on needle doctor and can't find a match.
Any thoughts?

Woochifer
12-23-2006, 05:06 PM
A worn stylus will not short out a channel. Sounds more like you got a wiring problem. Either one of the pins going to the cartridge is not connecting properly, or there's bad wiring connecting the turntable to the preamp. Unfortunately, turntable repairs are not cheap.

As far as Empire goes, you can do a lot better. Most Empire cartridges were more for low end mass market turntables. Keep in mind though that good cartridges will typically run you more than $100. Below that price point, you got a lot of models that absolutely cannot do justice to the vinyl format. If you need to keep your expenditures low, you can always e-mail the Needle Doctor with your specs and see which replacement stylus will fit that cartridge.

royphil345
12-23-2006, 05:09 PM
It's probably more than just the stylus.

I would first try to reverse the left and right connections from the turntable to see if the working channel changes sides on your system. If not, the turntable isn't to blame. If so, I would suspect a bad cartridge or dirty / broken connections to the cartridge pins, bad tonearm wires, or a bad interconnect or plug.