A little help making up my mind??? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : A little help making up my mind???

Wonder11
12-05-2006, 05:23 PM
Hello All,

I am NEW to this site, but I have been reading the past reviews for weeks. :) I have purchased a Marantz SR-8000 and am now in search of some speakers. :confused: I believe I have narrowed it down to B&W DM603s2, Klipsch Forte, or some JBL 4311s. My musical tastes run the gammut as I am a musician... electric bass :5: Everything from Toscanini or Van Kliburn to Juno Reactor or Tool, with healthy does of Robben Ford. My volume is moderate as I live in a town home. Please help me decide. I DO plan on doing the surround thing at some juncture, but I am primarily a two Channel listener. Any suggestions would be Greatly Appreciated!

Thanks,
Steve

Dusty Chalk
12-05-2006, 06:14 PM
JBL 4311 are vintage, no? If you're ready to refoam the woofers, I'd say that's the way to go. You want bass, right? JBL's pretty good about that. I haven't heard that particular pair, but one of my "lust" speakers is a JBL. You may want to move it up a notch and look for something with 15" woofers -- I have a bassist friend, and he says nothing does bass right like something with 15" woofers. Vintage Klipsch or JBL's.

icarus
12-05-2006, 06:37 PM
Thats a good point dusty about the 15" woofers. I personally am a huge fan B&W I would recomend them to pretty much anyone who can afford it. The 603's should give some pretty wicked bass, but it never does hurt to throw a sub in there just to kick it up a notch!!!

Wonder11
12-05-2006, 07:14 PM
Thats a good point dusty about the 15" woofers. I personally am a huge fan B&W I would recomend them to pretty much anyone who can afford it. The 603's should give some pretty wicked bass, but it never does hurt to throw a sub in there just to kick it up a notch!!!