Newbie- Buying BMWs for Music listening [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie- Buying BMWs for Music listening

avgjoe
11-26-2006, 10:27 PM
I have a pretty old Denon AVR-485 receiver and a Denon sub that came with that HT package. I would like to purchase a pair of BMWs for stereo listening. My room is relatively small (~190 square ft). What speakers would u suggest for the size of my room? I was looking at the DM602 S3 or the DM601 S3s but didn't know which one would be better. I went to a friend's and was blown away by his pair of BMWs. Though as this is my first time buying high end speakers, I am open to any suggestions for alternatives.

I'm on a budget. Thus, if you guys could also direct me to a relatively inexpensive amp to couple with the BMWs as well as what cables to use, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks for your time!

anamorphic96
11-26-2006, 11:00 PM
FYI - The company is called B&W not BMW. :idea: :ihih:

Carl Reid
11-26-2006, 11:10 PM
First off: What's your budget for the integrated? I really like the sound of B&W and Rotel but I have no idea whether Rotel produces an integrated that is within your budget... another option would probably be to check out NAD.... they have a fairly wide selection of relatively inexpensive integrateds.... I own a NAD C352 that I used before I upgraded to Rotel seperates....

Secondly/finally: As another poster was so kind as to say... the company is B&W... but it's an easy mistake to make... since B&W and BMW sounds pretty much the same....

paul_pci
11-26-2006, 11:38 PM
I have 601s and am quite happy with them. I'm also considering getting the 602s and moving the 601s to the rear.For your purposes, if you have the money, go with the 602s. As B&W makes quite efficient speakers, I'd say that you could get away with either a Denon stereo receiver or a Cambridge integrated amp like they have at Audio Advisor:

http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo.asp?number=CA540AV2