some basic questions and advice anyone plz help! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : some basic questions and advice anyone plz help!

mpbojangles
11-26-2006, 05:43 PM
Hey guys I'm brand new to the floorstanding speaker scene but I'm pretty sure that floorstanding is definatly the way I want to go as opposed to surround etc. I'm a college kid with a limited budget. I just have a few questions...

Is there any standout floorstanding speaker brand?

How much does a decent amp cost?

In terms of music only, how does a floorstanding speaker sound compared to bookshelf or other kinds of speakers in the same price range?

Are there any major cons to buying floorstanding speakers?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Mr Peabody
11-26-2006, 07:27 PM
Floorstanding speakers will generally be able to play lower. If you have a small room where space is a consideration bookshelf speakers may make a better fit.

Your other questions are a bit ambiguous. There are several good brands of floorstanders. On amps, "good" is he operative word here. What's good to one may not be good to another. Give us a bit more info,, will the system be used for parties or critical listening, what type of music do you listen to and a big one, what is your budget?? Anything you can tell us to help narrow the field.

Are you wanting receiver, integrated amp or separates? An integrated amp is ne chasis with pre and power sections, add a tuner and you have a receiver, except, generally an integrated has better performance than a receiver. Separates, you have a preamp, power amp in separate chasis. Speakers will vary in power handling and efficiency. Speakers are usually a personal choice. It's good to get opinions so you know where to start but you will need to do some listening to get an idea of what you like.

spasticteapot
11-26-2006, 08:12 PM