Grado Reference vs Denon DL103 vs Grado Black [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Grado Reference vs Denon DL103 vs Grado Black

squeegy200
11-26-2006, 02:48 PM
Like Royphil345, I had been following a parallel path regarding cartridges. I had been using Grado Moving Magnet cartridges for a few months now and enjoying the experience.

However, I had the opportunity to audition a Moving Coil preamp and decided I might as well try it out. Since I did not have a MC cartridge, I decided to order the classic Denon DL103 from an online retailer in Germany. It was available, I'd read much about it, and it was inexpensive--$148

I received the cartridge just before Thanksgiving day. That did not give me much opportunity until the following weekend.

So this Sunday I did some extensive listening and A-B comparisons.

I setup two turntables
On a SystemDek IIX, I installed the Denon DL103 and configured it to spec using an ADC stylus alignment gauge and test record.

On an NAD 5125, I setup the Grado Black using the same stylus gauge and test record.

I would try both cartridges with at least two phono stages each.

Moving Magnet
1. I used a Bottlehead Seduction phono stage. It is a tube phono stage with a rating of 36db gain and 47.5k input resistance. It also has a non-adjustable load of 50pF

2. Phono stage of an Apt/Holman Preamp which has an adjustable cap load of 50-400pF. I tried each setting and settled on 100pF.

Moving Coil
1. Again I used the built-in step-up transformer within the Apt/Holman. The Denon recommends a capacitative load of 100pF or higher but I found it sounded best right at 100pF.

2. Micheal Yee Audio PFE-1 with adjustable gain and Capacitative load. (More on this later)

For the shootout-I listened to Jennifer Warnes "Famous Blue Raincoat" track 2. The selection was "Bird on a wire"

First impression.