Upgrading 80's System Advice [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading 80's System Advice

Rellik
11-08-2006, 11:56 AM
Hello all. Newbie here.

I have a Yamaha/Boston Acoustic setup that I bought in the late 1980's. The receiver model I have, I believe, is the Yamaha RX500. Its a 50W/channel receiver (BTW, I love the variable loudness control on the Yamaha). The speakers are Boston A60, 2 way bookshelf speakers. Even after about 20 years, I still love the sound with this combination. I recall listening to several brands of speakers and how I LOVED the natural sound of the Boston's. They didn't have the harsh highs or overpowering bass that some of the others had.

I'm working my way to upgrading to a modern A/V system, but I would like to start by upgrading the speakers (maybe using the A60's as rear speakers later). I'm considering the Boston Acoustic VR2 and Axioms M60 v2 models. Looking to see if anyone has any recommendations that would give me similar sound with the A60's that I love, only better.

I would probably stick with either a Yamaha, Denon, or Onkyo unit later on. Room dimensions are 12' x 18' with 8' ceiling separated by a half wall to another room about 14' x 15'. Room could be upgraded later to a 20' x 25' room with vaulted ceilings Thanx in advance for your comments.

musiclover60
11-09-2006, 08:35 AM
Rellick,

I just upgrade my speakers from mid 80's JBL's. The process wasn't pretty! First off, if you want comparable sound, get ready to spend about double what you spent for those speakers if your buying new. Second, get ready to listen to speakers built to sound great with movies, not audio, if your shopping at main stream stores.
That being said, I'm assuming you want to find some speakers that sound like your 80's BA's. Doesn't happen with the new BA's. The sound of the new BA's is nothing like what they had in the 80's, and in my opinion, isn't near as good.