the difference in sound [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : the difference in sound

herm0016
10-26-2006, 06:52 PM
This weekend my workplace hosted a Flogging Molly concert. we set up the rig in our basketball gym here on campus, it consisted of a 30x40 stage, motorized truss above for lighting and a complete D&B sound system. 6 b2 sub's, 12 c7 sub's, 12 c7's, d&b monitors and 1 front fill. (don't know which model) Yamaha analog boards for FOH and monitors. i am an electrician (lighting) by training but i noticed that my ears were very tired and hurt a lot more than i remember them hurting at other concerts.(though i was front line security standing in front of or beside the 3 B2's on stage left.) i had a com pack, so i had one ear plugged and one in a headphone. the next day 6 of us crew went to a Blue Man Group concert in milwalkie (a 6 hour drive) we sat center 16 rows back in the bradley center. they had a Yamaha analog (i think anyway,looked almost brand new, had a little lcd in the center) and HUGE line arrays flown on each side with subs under the stage and 4 or 5 front fills. the FOH mix position was about 20 rows back from us. after that concert, which we all agreed was just as loud, none of our ears hurt like the night before. i guess thats why good sound guys are worth it! anyone can make it loud and sound good now, but not just anyone can make it sound great and not be fatiguing. my house mate, a sound guy, agreed with all this too. i just wanted your feedback. what are your comments?

PeruvianSkies
10-26-2006, 06:55 PM
FLOGGING MOLLY would make my ears hurt no matter how loud or soft the music was.

hermanv
11-02-2006, 09:54 PM
Virtually everyone has experienced the sound fatigue you heard due to poor quality sound. Many people can't spot this insult to their ears except after a long exposure.