Room Acoustics. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Room Acoustics.

PeruvianSkies
10-10-2006, 08:45 PM
Hey gang....

Gotta question. I have a good friend who I am just getting into the whole home theater/audio world and he is really enjoying it. I even gave him some of my older gear so he could have a quick jump at it. Here's the deal...

Right now he is in a room that is 11x16X7. The ceiling is low, which I think is a good thing. The speakers are set up in his room lengthwise so that they are about 2-3 feet away from the one wall, which makes them about 13 feet from the opposite wall, and about 8-9 feet from the couch/listening position. The room is carpeted and he does have a few things hanging on the wall. He is NOT in a budgetary position though to really spend any money on room acoustics at this point, but I told him I would ask around about some recommendations on ways to help improve his room conditions.

So the first question is...

Should as much of the walls be covered with various things as possible? He mentioned putting a large blanket on the backwall that the speakers are facing. He also wanted to put some posters and various other things that could possible absord some sound as welll.

What are some other possible items that might help him out? Also, should he try to leave some wall space near the actual speakers in order to help the bass response? If they are tucked towards the corner (3 feet from back wall and about 1/2 foot from the side walls).

Any help would be appreciated as I already told him this is not my strong subject, especially with DIY stuff.

kexodusc
10-11-2006, 04:26 AM
Treating a room isn't something you can try to cheat on to get by - you've either got to do it, or not do it, IMO.

Low ceilings aren't a good thing - leads to more reflections of increased intensity - but it's not the biggest culprit in his room, so he can worry about it later.