going analog at last [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : going analog at last

accastil
10-09-2006, 10:10 AM
hi guys! very soon ill be buying a TT. before doing so, i have some questions:
1) what is the best TT within my 280 to 480usd budget?
2) which is better, buying a preamp with phono input or adding a phono stage to my exsting preamp...assuming the same budget will be spent on both options
3) what is MM and MC phono stages?
4) what are the most important considerations to look for in buying TT and/or phono stages?

pardon my ignorance, im new to analog music. :)

Jim Clark
10-09-2006, 01:15 PM
hi guys! very soon ill be buying a TT. before doing so, i have some questions:
1) what is the best TT within my 280 to 480usd budget?
2) which is better, buying a preamp with phono input or adding a phono stage to my exsting preamp...assuming the same budget will be spent on both options
3) what is MM and MC phono stages?
4) what are the most important considerations to look for in buying TT and/or phono stages?

pardon my ignorance, im new to analog music. :)

From one "just getting back into it" guy to another.

It's kind of fun but I'll tell you right now I'm discovering how darned expensive the whole thing is and I'm not buying state of the art stuff here. Be prepared as there are expenses that continue to mount for the records, test records, cleaning system, brushes, cartridges, scales, static treatments and probably several other things I'm forgetting about that are equally important.

1). Wouldn't have any idea but I like the idea of used equipement. Vintage equipment if you can handle the cleaning, lubricating, and set up yourself or have a reasonably priced shop that can help you.

2). Everything I've read points to a seperate phono preamp being the best option. Of course there are always exceptions due to lousy preamps and really good add on stages.