Where's SoundAdvice when you need him?!? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Where's SoundAdvice when you need him?!?

topspeed
10-04-2006, 12:49 PM
:lol: :lol: :lol:
From the WTF?!? Files, I give you the latest and greatest in tweaks:

http://pic6.audiogon.com/i/a/f/1156483293.jpg
Description
20-Pounds of high density pure white marble stone is combined with a unique stone based vibration dampening soft bonding powder. Feed Moon Rocks to your speakers through the ports - instructions included. Designed for use in Aural Ersatz TAD-803's or any speaker with a bottom port (located below drivers). Your ears and speakers will thank you! Another fine Bizzy Bee Tube Audio Design Poduct. Only sold Mail Order Promotes Low Prices. Moon Rocks auction terms: (2) measured 10-lb containers with instructions: Flat rate $22 insured FedEx Ground to any US-48 state. US-48 bids only. New Retail $99.00

I'm no engineer, but isn't pouring rocks into your tuned ports a bad idea?!? :confused:

http://pic6.audiogon.com/i/a/f/1159698730.jpg
Description
This is a $1 No Reserve Auction for a brand new Promethean Base direct from manufacturer, Machina Dynamica. This is our cost effective solution to vibration isolation for CD, DVD and SACD players, preamps, integrated amps, DACs and moderate weight turntables. This Promethean employs 3 Large DH Cones under lower plate, two (2) 19x16 maple/birch ply plates and 3 Special Helical Springs. Weight limit for component is 60 lb using 3 springs; components heavier than 60 lb require additional spring(s). Special Helical Springs now incorporate viscoelastic damping. Resonant frequencies for Promethean Base 2 Hz in 4 directions of motion. Stunning dynamics, bass entension, midrange and treble clarity/smoothness. New retail $249.00

"Special Helical Springs?!?" So that's what they call cheap-a$$ springs between to pieces of plywood. Gotcha :thumbsup:

and last but not least (for which no comments will be given, nor are needed)...