Value Speaker Arrangement: Bose or BIC? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Value Speaker Arrangement: Bose or BIC?

thumpn650
02-05-2004, 12:46 PM
I am not an audio expert. I am seeking advice concerning a value speaker system. I desire to spend approximately $600 for a set of speakers that will provide quality sound for both music and home theater. The arrangement will most likely be used by my family primarily for home theater. Although, I would like them for music. My wife desires a speaker system that is small and does not dominate the room, and no/minimal wire runs. Since I do not own the home I am currently living in, I cannot install wall speakers. From what I understand, wireless is expensive.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>

My limited research has led me to the two possible arrangements, or some combination of the two:<o:p></o:p>

<o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>1) Bose
VCS-10 center channel
Acoustimass 5 Series III – front channels<o:p></o:p>
161 - surround sound

2) BIC<o:p></o:p>
DV62CLRs - center channel
V1020 subwoofer
DV62si bookshelf – front channels<o:p></o:p>
DV52si – surround sound

I am interested in hearing people’s thoughts and experiences.<o:p></o:p>

Thanks

This Guy
02-05-2004, 01:20 PM
go with the BIC. Instead of using the DV62si as the front channels, use three DV62CLR as the left center and right. They'll be better timbre matched and will give you a better sound. Stay away from Bose and never look at there speakers ever again. BIC makes good stuff for the money, you'll be happy.

-Joey

poneal
02-05-2004, 01:24 PM
You lucky you haven't been flamed by all the booze bashers in here. For the money, go with the BIC. ThisGuy gave you some sound advice. Cheers.

stuartlittle
02-05-2004, 04:55 PM