Bi-Wiring?....Uhh.... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Bi-Wiring?....Uhh....

Cole_Guitar
02-03-2004, 06:24 PM
I am just getting started in this whole home theater stuff and my head has had all it can take. I have a Yamaha HTR-5660 receiver and want to bi-wire. I emailed Yamaha and asked them how, but my mind couldn't understand. DO ANY of you know how to bi-wire this receiver? I am wanting to buy the SX-HTB surround system from Fluance, and they can be bi-wired.

Do you run two sets of speaker wire from each terminal on the receiver or do they need to be seperate. This receiver has the Speaker A/B option. Which seems to be able to run two sets of main speakers (front left and right). Would I want to run one set of speaker wire to one set of the terminals on the speaker using the Speaker A option, and run one set of speaker wires to the other terminal on the speaker using the Speaker B option?

Please, Help ME!!! :confused: :mad: :confused:

This Guy
02-03-2004, 06:49 PM
Putting two pairs of speaker wires into one speaker output is the same thing as using the left and right channels and the AB speaker output at the same time. Use the A/B to lessen the chance of having the positive and negative wires touch. Just to tell ya, you won't here a difference if you Bi wire the speakers. Bi-wiring is the same thing as getting a thicker gauge cable. I do understand you got some new speakers and you want to experiment with them, and so would I. So just be careful in making sure those positive and negative wires NEVER touch or you can say good by to your receiver.

-Joey

Cole_Guitar
02-03-2004, 08:43 PM