Searching for headset/mic with excellent audio quality [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Searching for headset/mic with excellent audio quality

Dainis
08-30-2006, 01:52 AM
Hi all,

I've encountered a bit of a challenge. I own a pair of Sony headphones (I don't have the model number with me right now), and they weren't very expensive, but the audio quality is quite good. I realize there may be "anti-Sony" people here, and I don't want to attract such discussion. Also, there is the subjective nature of sound perception, which I accept, yet there are also measurable criteria for headphone performance (something I'd like to get more familiar with).

Also, I have a Master's Degree in Music Composition and have done work to improve my ears, so I'm confident that my ear/brain connection delivers sound perception at an above-average capacity.

So here's the challenge. With just my cheap computer microphone and my Sony headset, my Skype conversations sound remarkably good. I bought a Plantronics (I think it was a v.90) headset with mic, and I'll eventually need 3 headsets or more (work, home, wife, jogging/cell phone).

The Plantronics sound was so bad I couldn't believe it. The headset was Skype certified, and I think they adjust the EQ in those headsets for voice. Music through the headset sounded like it was passing through a crinkly piece of paper!

I spend quite a bit of time working at the computer. I make Skype calls and I listen to music, online radio, etc. If things are really bad, I'll go in and adjust the EQ in the soundcard software.

If I could try a bunch of headsets at an electronics store, things would be easier, but they are all wrapped in plastic. I'm looking for a work-headset, which I'd like to budget around $50 for (and it needs to be available in Europe). I'd be glad to buy from Ebay, if someone can make a recommendation for a reliable dealer.