I need input on my speaker design plans. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : I need input on my speaker design plans.

punkrokr1701
08-26-2006, 09:24 PM
Ok, I'm kinda new at this but I'm planning to build my own set of speaker cabinets. I'm planning at putting two 12" subwoofers, two 12" inch woofers, two 6" mid bass drivers, and three 3 3/4" titanium tweeters in each cabinet. Ambitous, yes, but I'm only 14 so why not.

Anyway, these are the parts I'm looking at using to build my cabinets.

Hifonics Brutus subwoofers rated 600 watts rms / 1200 watts peak and they come in 2 ohm and 4 ohm versions.
Pyle PYM1298 woofers rated 600 watts rms / 1200 watts peak at 8 ohm.
Pyle PDMW6 mid bass drivers rated 125 watts rms / 250 watts peak at 8 ohm.
And Pyle PDBT18 titanium tweeters rated 200 watts rms / 400 watts peak at 4 to 8 ohm.

Now these ratings are per speaker and they are only what the companies that make them claim. Totaled each cab would have a rating of 2900 watts rms / 6100 watts peak.

As for powering these beasts I was thinking about installing two DJ power amplifiers on each cabinet. I'm looking at some Gli Pro amplifiers that claim a 4000 watt rating each which I seriously doubt at a price of $250 each. But assuming they are no good I was also eyeballing a set of Pyle DJ amps that seem more realistic with an output rating of 3000 watts each at $350 apiece.

Now I know there are audio addicts out there that know all of this stuff like the back of their hand and know about these brands and their reputation so that's why I put up the companies name and model #. I'd like to know about what these parts are actually about if they really are a steal or if I'm gonna be pissed when they turn out to be an expensive pile of junk.