Another newb- will this work? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Another newb- will this work?

gilbrock
08-23-2006, 01:42 PM
Hi guys, I am a complete newb when it comes to home theater, but I have been offered a great deal on some components but want to make sure they all work together.

The parts are:

Carver pre-amp with radio tuner
Carver M-500t amp from the late 80's
BSR Equalizer
4 foot Infiniti tower speakers (with 1 blown mid)

All this for $300!

So my question is:

A. Will I be able to plug this all in to a TV to use it as a theater system - I presume I just run a wire from the TV's audio out to the pre-amps' audio in?

B. Do the Carver preamps usually have Dobly decoders and such (I dont have a model number yet)..if not, can I buy decoders that will enable stuff like THX, etc?

C. Where can I find replacement speakers for the blown mid in the Infiniti tower (again, no model number yet)?

D. Should I buy auxilliary fans for the amp? The guy said that when it's going for a long period of time really loud sometimes it shuts down - my guess is from heat sink.

Thanks in advance everyone!!

Eli

misterq4u
08-23-2006, 02:35 PM
You may or not agree with this.
For $300, is not a great deal, specially if you want to do home theater.
The list that of equipment may be an "ok" deal for a collector or vintage enthusiast and this equipment does not qualify for that yet.
Blown Infinity's? a replacement part will run pretty high, too high to care to look for even.

Please do yourself a favor and spend your hard earned $300 here or anywhere else.
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-8RAF6wD7hU4/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?i=158DAVX255&tab=morephotos&a=&s=0&cc=01&g=37700#morephotos
That is if you want to start with initial HT satisfaction then work your way up.
If you are more serious about music than HT then do a good receiver + 2 speaker setup then build up. Like this

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-8RAF6wD7hU4/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?g=10420&I=158STDG500
And this