Newbie seeking for advice [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie seeking for advice

yellowmellow
08-22-2006, 05:49 PM
Hi everyone, I am new to hifi and would like some suggestions on getting integrated amplifier.

The sources of my system are primarily a Cambridge 640C version 2 CDP, and a cheap Project turntable (the one with phono integrated). I am using a Chinese Music Angel EL34 tube amp that my friend lent me, to drive a new pair of Dynaudio Audience 42 speakers, which I had just added this weekend.

I am thinking to switch to a transitor amp, and have Cambridge 640A and Audiolab 8000s (2nd handed) in my mind. I don't see anyone mentioned in the forum with the combo of 8000s and Dyn 42, would they work well? Or any other alternatives in similar price (new or 2nd handed)? I heard that the 42 need certain power to drive, aren't they?

Jazz / rock would be my preference.

JoeE SP9
08-23-2006, 08:29 AM
As far as the Audiolab and Cambridge go they are pretty much equal in terms of power and features. Either one would power your Dynaudio's just fine. If you want more I would look into a powered subwoofer. That would allow them to play louder and give you some real bass. Were I in your situation I would get the subwoofer first. Of course that supposes you can keep the Music Angel amp you're now using.:cool:

BTW A hearty welcome aboard!

Bernd
08-23-2006, 08:56 AM
Hi and welcome,

The Audiolab will most likely sound on the bright side with your Dynaudios.
If you could manage it have a listen to the new Cambridge Azur 840A. It is a fantastic new amp from Cambridge.
But listen and then listen some more.

Good luck

Peace

Bernd:16:

Mike Anderson
08-23-2006, 12:18 PM
Check out Musical Fidelity:

http://www.audioreview.com/mfr/musical-fidelity/integrated-amplifiers/MPL_700_2717CRX.ASPX

I got a used MF A3.2 for $700, it was a great deal. They're built like tanks, so you don't have to worry as much getting a used one.

nightflier