Does my receiver accept banana plugs? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Does my receiver accept banana plugs?

maldito
08-20-2006, 05:32 PM
I'm a newbie and I wanted to know how I can tell if my receiver accepts banana plugs. I have the Sony STR-DE997 receiver made in 2004. It has 'Screw Type' speaker connectors and the manual is no help! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

likeitloud
08-21-2006, 03:53 AM
Yes, the plugs go in the opening in front of the connector. Loosen the connector (knob)
push plug in firmly..don't go crazy..and spin connector to lock in.

JohnMichael
08-21-2006, 07:20 AM
I do not know if this is the case for Sony but two of my integrated amps were shipped with soft inserts where the banana plugs would go. I pulled them out with tweezers and then was able to insert the banana plugs.

maldito
08-21-2006, 06:52 PM
Thanks for the reply likeitloud and JohnMichael !

I was also wondering if using banana plugs actually improves the sound quality? Wouldn't connecting a bare wire alone have a more direct connection with the binding posts on speakers and to the receiver?

likeitloud
08-21-2006, 09:04 PM

I was also wondering if using banana plugs actually improves the sound quality? Wouldn't connecting a bare wire alone have a more direct connection with the binding posts on speakers and to the receiver?

Bare wire in a perfect world would be ideal, however for ease of attaching the wire
I use plugs on the source end, and bare wire for the speaker, I've moved my amp
a few times, and it was just handy, also plugs eliminate any issues of a wire touching
the metal panel, or worse the neighboring wire, causing all kinds of nasty things
to happen, also I spent alot of time getting things organized, and plugs helped.
Hope this helps, good luck

musiclover60
08-25-2006, 05:39 AM