I need some HELP!! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : I need some HELP!!

DohMike
08-15-2006, 10:52 AM
I'm a complete noob when it comes to audio. I'm looking to buy a new home theatre system with atleast 5.1 surround sound. I am asking for some help on buying everything...I have no clue what brands or models to look for...I don't really care what they look like but sound quality is the most important...My system will be hooked into my computer so I will need a input that allows my sound card to hook in the back of my reciever while maintaining the 5.1 surround sound. I am a big online gamer and I love my music so if you guys would put a list of the equipment/components I will need. I already have the speakers, so all I need is a Subwoofer and a Reciever...Cheap as possible seeing how I'm only 17. Best bang for the buck would be nice...

PS "Quality is best"

DohMike

GMichael
08-15-2006, 01:19 PM
Hi Doh,

Welcome to AR.
There are many very good receivers to choose from. Knowing what speakers you have will help us to help you. Will you be using this for just HT or some music as well? What percent of each do you think?

It's tough to get "Cheap as possible" and "Quality is best" on the same page, but we'll give it a shot.

DohMike
08-15-2006, 01:39 PM
I have these 2 I will be getting more of them my next pay check :P
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7705307&type=product&id=1138085354138

uh Both home theatre and music 70% music and 30% home theatre/games/movies

BTW Its nice to know someone out there is willing to help us noobs...My buddy Clob try's to tell me what to get and stuff but I don't follow anything he says...He told me I should get this Sub but I don't know he knows alot about cps but I don't think he knows anything about sound quality http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=300-635

paul_pci
08-15-2006, 01:44 PM