Are you a musician? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Are you a musician?

The Tahitijack
08-05-2006, 07:01 AM
I've noticed a few of our members have commented that they play a guitar, drums or sax.

If you are a working or wanna be musician please tell us somethin' 'bout yourself.

I'll start it off by saying I started playing and collecting (Taylor) acoustic guitars 8 years ago. A few years ago added some electrics (PRS CU22 and McCarty & Fender Strat) to the collection. I play fingerstyle on my acoutics and mostly rhythm on the electrics. My music tastes run from surf music to classic rock and everything in between except Country. I was in a band until I relocated 1,200 miles earlier this year. Now I'm looking to start another band.

kexodusc
08-05-2006, 05:40 PM
Play cello, piano and guitar here...hard to find gigs with the cello though.
Music tastes are all over the map.
I've pretty much surrendered to the reality I'll never be the next Warren Haynes or Ben Folds, but it beats collecting stamps.

basite
08-06-2006, 09:53 AM
used to play the piano, but now i stopped doing that, simply because i didn't liked it anymore, piano is a beautifull instrument, when played in a group of instruments, otherwise, it's boring

kexodusc
08-06-2006, 09:57 AM
used to play the piano, but now i stopped doing that, simply because i didn't liked it anymore, piano is a beautifull instrument, when played in a group of instruments, otherwise, it's boring

Actually, Piano is probably my favorite instrument when played alone - most other instruments can't do nearly as much, play as many styles of music, or play as many octaves as piano or organ. Perhaps the Harp is as versatile, but I can't get into most Harp music that much.

JoeE SP9
08-06-2006, 12:15 PM
Used to play. Violin, Viola, Cello and Bass. Played an electric bass in several bands. The life style was more destructive than I could handle. Just listen now.:sad:

Woochifer
08-06-2006, 12:34 PM