Received an amp/preamp [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Received an amp/preamp

Bender81
08-01-2006, 12:23 PM
Hi, my friend is currently moving to a smaller condo so he gave me a vacuum amp/preamp that he doesn't have any use for. Little more to it than that, but that's the gist of it. Pretty good quality stuff to, so I was wondering what kind of additional equipment I'd need to do the following 2 amps justice:

Silsonic SAP-50T Vacuum amp
VAL MP-L1S Vacuum Preamp

So I'd need a quality cd deck and speakers? I looked up the silsonic amp and I can't really find anything on it since it's a Chinese brand (it was bought in Hong Kong I think). Found this link on google for a little information on it:
http://cgi.ebay.com/SILSONIC-TUBE-POWER-AMP-STEREO-6550-X-4-50WX2_W0QQitemZ330010365279QQcmdZViewItem

I'm pretty new to this stuff although I was pretty into headphones years back (I have a pair of Grados and a headphone amp). Anyways, any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Mr Peabody
08-01-2006, 07:51 PM
Well it looks like you have the heart of the system. Where is your budget? 6550's usually have good bass control and one of the more powerful output tubes.

A very good CD player is Arcam and start around $699.00. If that's too much, give a listen to Marantz.

Speakers vary in sonic character and a personal thing, you'll have to try a few pair to see what you like. If you are in an area that has hi fi shops, try to audition at home on your own gear. If that's not possible buy on line from a site that will allow 30 day return policy.

Do you know what the nominal impedance of your friends speakers were or does this amp offer different ohm speaker hook ups? Without knowing too much about the amps ability you might want to stay at 89dB or higher SPL rating on your speaker. Stick with one that has a rep for not having wild impedance swings.

Maybe give us an idea of what you may have access to.

jt1stcav
08-06-2006, 09:02 PM