Paradigm Help!! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Paradigm Help!!

aeh10
07-31-2006, 04:35 PM
Hello! Well I am just beginning my quest for the ultimate Home Theater and I have already obtained my receiver as well as my two mains. My brain will be Denon's AVR 2807 and for my two mains I have 2 Paradigm Monitor 7v.4's. My plan is to get the ADP370's for surrounds, two mini monitors for backs and a CC 270 for my center channel. For my sub I have decided to go with the SVS 20-39PCi. Does this sound like a reasonable 7.1 setup. I will be using the system mostly for playing videos and gaming, some music. Any help would be awesome, thanks for helping the newbie!!!!

Woochifer
07-31-2006, 07:06 PM
I would suggest that you try out the Mini Monitors as your surround speakers first. There's a lot of difference of opinion on whether or not to go with dipolar surround speakers, and you might like the directionality of direct firing surround speakers better. Also, if you have your sofa pushed against the back wall, I would recommend staying with a 5.1 speaker setup because you don't have enough room behind the listening position for a 7.1 setup to sound right. The reference speaker alignments that you should start with are shown below (ignore the placement of the subwoofer, there's no universally used reference position for subs). Once you have the speakers in this alignment, then you can adjust them to your preferences and any issues that the room presents.

http://www.axiomaudio.com/global/images/diagrams/dolby_digital_pro_logic2.jpg

http://www.axiomaudio.com/archives/images/dolby_pro_logic2x.jpg