Want to get a record player [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Want to get a record player

specialagentpunk
07-10-2006, 11:09 PM
I'm a total noob to records and record players. I don't even know where to start. I've looked at wikipedia, but that's it. I guess I want a good sound system for my room. I think I'm attracted to the retro/classic aspect of records. I'd love to just sit in my room while some old jazz record is on the loop, or listening to Suspense or X Minus One - I love old time radio, though I get it all from mp3s off the net.

Any tips, like beginning players and systems? Any good guides?

btw, I'm not looking to spend over $500. The cheaper the better. Like $100 would be great.

(I don't have or ever had any sound systems or record players, thats how noobish I am.)

Thanks.

JohnMichael
07-11-2006, 08:05 AM
I'm a total noob to records and record players. I don't even know where to start. I've looked at wikipedia, but that's it. I guess I want a good sound system for my room. I think I'm attracted to the retro/classic aspect of records. I'd love to just sit in my room while some old jazz record is on the loop, or listening to Suspense or X Minus One - I love old time radio, though I get it all from mp3s off the net.

btw, I'm not looking to spend over $500. The cheaper the better. Like $100 would be great.

(I don't have or ever had any sound systems or record players, thats how noobish I am.)

Thanks.

First of all welcome to the AudioReview. Secondly yes you can purchase a turntable for under $500. My concern is you say you do not have a sound system. If you buy a ttable you will also need a phono cartridge, amplification such as receiver or integrated amp with a built in phono section or a seperate phono premap and a pair of speakers. We can certainly help you put a system together but you will need more than a ttable. Let us know if you have equipment you did not list. We will gladly help.

ericl
07-11-2006, 08:58 AM