The New Sony Bravia X Series Coming Soon [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : The New Sony Bravia X Series Coming Soon

Ken7
06-28-2006, 06:37 AM
Hi Everyone, I’m new here and this is my first post.

I am a newbie to high end audio and video. I really need to learn quite a bit more about all the new technologies. My plan is to create a Home Theater and I want to start with a really good TV and build from there.

A local dealer carries the Sony line and he is really big on their Bravia LCD TV’s. He told me that the new models will be coming out in September if I want to wait. He did not have a lot of information beyond that.

So I did some online research using Google and here are some of the links that I came up with.

How does the new X series line look to you?

Sony Bravia X Series, the 46inch looks really nice and it comes with 1080p!

http://www.bigpicturebigsound.com/sony-at-home-entertainment-2006.shtml

http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/SY_DisplayProductInformation-Start?ProductSKU=KDL46XBR2&Dept=tvvideo&CategoryName=hid_tv_newbravia

http://www.twice.com/article/CA6344956.html

Thanks
Ken

topspeed
06-30-2006, 09:10 AM
Welcome to the board!

As far as LCD's go, Sony's Bravia's are the best I've seen. In fact, I bought my dad a 40" Bravia just a few months ago.

A couple of things about waiting for 1080p sets:
1) Unless your viewing distance is fairly close, it's going to be pretty hard to tell the difference between 1080p and 780p/1080i
2) 1080p is going to be expensive at first
3) There is scant 1080p content at the moment.

Am I saying you shouldn't buy a 1080p? Absolutely not. Just be aware of it's limitations.