How do I connect this home theater system?? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : How do I connect this home theater system??

dnast62uc
06-27-2006, 08:04 PM
I am a novice. Please help! I have the following equiptment to hookup: SAMSUNG LNS4692D 46" LCD HDTV, YAMAHA HTR-5860 RECEIVER, SONY DVPNC85HB 5 DISC DVD, COMCAST DIGITAL HD CABLE BOX. They all appear to have an hdmi connection, but I do not know where to start. What do I need for cables? What connects to what? Can someone straighten me out??

elapsed
06-27-2006, 08:37 PM
Here goes nothing..

1. Coax into your Cable box
2. HDMI from your Cable box into your TV
3. Optical Audio or Digital Coax from your Cable box into your receiver
4. HDMI from your DVD into your TV
5. Optical Audio or Digital Coax from your DVD into your receiver
6. Component from your receiver into your TV
7. Speakers into your receiver

Enjoy!

elapsed
06-27-2006, 09:09 PM
http://members.shaw.ca/missrani/Entertainment.JPG

likeitloud
06-27-2006, 11:37 PM
Elapsed....Great work man.

dnast62uc
06-28-2006, 07:31 AM
Now that is one detailed response. Many thanks elapsed. Two minor questions: 1. Does it matter if I use the digital coax or optical audio for the receiver connection? and (2.) On the other end, what is a component connection? Is that the red, yellow, white cable?
Thanks so much for you help on this.

audio amateur
06-28-2006, 08:18 AM
Now that is one detailed response. Many thanks elapsed. Two minor questions: 1. Does it matter if I use the digital coax or optical audio for the receiver connection? and (2.) On the other end, what is a component connection? Is that the red, yellow, white cable?
Thanks so much for you help on this.