stupid question about subwoofers in cabinets [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : stupid question about subwoofers in cabinets

maanba
06-02-2006, 11:02 AM
I am close to putting together my very first ht system for my family room. My biggest issue (and some of you can probably relate), is that this is a "family room" which means kids and toys and focal point of the house, etc. My wife will lose it if I have a subwoofer sitting in the room. So my question is how bad is it to put a sub in a cabinet. I am having a custom cabinet made in the family room, so I can probably do something on the floor with a door that opens up, but there will still be cabinet walls on both sides of the sub.

I have heard different opinions, with some saying no way and some (including from a local high end audio store) saying sure. And, even stupider question (but I have never done this before so I am entitled) how bad would a system sound without a sub (KEF iQ3 bookshelfs and surrounds).

As an aside, although I am buying mostly Marantz and KEF equipment from a local dealer, the dealer recommended sub is a yamaha st225, which I am sure is not top notch by any stretch but it is cheap ($200) or so. I need this sub, whether it is out or inside a cabinet to be very small, and it seems like for quality small subs (velodyne, sunfire) you need to get up to $700+, which would make this the most expensive single item in the whole set-up, which I am probably not prepared for. I figure a cheap Yamaho sub is better than no sub at all, and this one is small. Any thoughts on how bad this would be or other budget small sub recommendations?

Resident Loser
06-02-2006, 12:23 PM