In the Market for a semi-budget sub. Klipsch or Paradigm? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : In the Market for a semi-budget sub. Klipsch or Paradigm?

Gidgidonihah
05-25-2006, 08:41 AM
First off let me say that my speakers aren't the greatest. Just what came with my shelf system back in the day. I'm going to start building my system piecemeal starting with the sub because I don't yet have one. I am a college student with a budget.

That being said, I have been shopping around for subs lately and starting by thinking I should buy a sony sub for 150. Realized that wasn't what I was looking for. Thought about a JBL for 250, demoed it at BB and found it was a lot weaker than a Klipsch SUB-12.

I then went to a small home-audio retailer and he recommended paradigm. But now we're getting a little too high in price.

These are my current options:
Paradigm PDR-12 (http://www.paradigm.com/Website/SiteParadigmProduct/ParadigmModels/SubWoofers/PDR_Series.html) about $430 after tax, but may be not as powerful as I want.
Klipsch Sub-12 (http://www.klipsch.com/product/product.aspx?cid=930&s=specs) ends up around $550 after tax
Paradigm PS-1200 (http://www.paradigm.com/Website/SiteParadigmProduct/ParadigmModels/SubWoofers/PS_Series.html) ends up around $600 after tax

This is my first real home theater purchase (and one of my most important because I LOVE bass) so I'm not quite sure what I should do here. This is a lot more money that I was planning on spending, but I figure I better spend a little more and go with something that will really please for time to come.

And another note, the small home-theater place from where I would get the paradigm is so small in fact that they don't have a demo area. If I go with the paradigm I will be buying on faith.

This will be used mostly for movies. The only time I would listen to music is if at some point in the future I get a nice sound card and hook my computer up to the reciever.

paul_pci
05-25-2006, 08:56 AM