looking for sub enclosure plans (15" Dayton Quatro) [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : looking for sub enclosure plans (15" Dayton Quatro)

traut
05-13-2006, 09:27 AM
Does anybody know of a website that has detailed plans for a sealed enclosure that would work well with the 15" Dayton Quatro?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to woodworking, and I don't have all of the proper tools to build the box, so I think that I'm going to go to a pro to have the box made. I'd like to have a set of plans to give him with the materials.

Cheers,
traut<!--end_body-->

kexodusc
05-13-2006, 10:04 AM
I don't have blueprints, but mine measures 20" cubed if I recall, double thick front baffle. Use 0.75" MDF. I also made an internal "shelf brace" which is just another 19.25" X 19.25" piece with a big hole routered in it...gives it more structural support.

You can build anywhere from a 2.5 to a 3.5 cubic ft cabinet for that...the 20" cubed is about 3.5 cubic feet, 18" cubed with a double thick front baffle would be about 2.5 cubic feet....

You should have the plate amp and driver to measure before routering/cutting those holes...

jocko_nc
05-14-2006, 05:49 PM
I'll pick up where kexo left off... I would recommend having all the parts in-hand before finalizing a design that is going to be sent off. You will have to account for every screw, every hole, and every possible interference. Lay the parts out and measure in all three directions. If someone else is doing the work, you must get it exactly right the first time.

That said, if you do it on some type of CAD program, a decent cabinet shop ought to be able to dump your plans to a CNC router. I have a guy that did my cabinets that has a very hi-tech shop. He occasionally does cabinets for the local audio nuts. The finished product is tops.

jocko

traut
05-15-2006, 03:39 PM
thanks for the tips!