LCD for TV under or around 700$ [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : LCD for TV under or around 700$

taurusnyy
05-02-2006, 04:27 AM
Hey all
I am in the market for an LCD hopefully HDTV ready. I only want to spend around 700 or less. I was hoping to get the best bang for my buck and get that fine balance between size and quality. Currently I have a 15 inch lcd -embarrassing I know and I need an upgrade. Was looking at 19 to 32 inch but not sure if I can afford that much.

edtyct
05-02-2006, 07:42 AM
Unless you get lucky on ebay or are willing to buy one of the no-name LCD flat panels at your own peril, you'll have trouble upgrading in size significantly at that price point. If you can swing another $100-200, you might take a look at the Panasonic TC-23LX50 or the JVC LT23X576 at an online store that you trust or can be convinced to trust (they exist). The HD pictures on JVC's small flat panels tend to look extraordinarily sharp, almost three-dimensional. I don't recall color rendition being as accurate when I last saw them, but things change--and peoples' priorities vary. I liked the JVC so much that I pushed it on a friend who was in the market a year or so ago.

superpanavision70mm
05-02-2006, 07:48 PM
How long are you planning to keep this new upgrade before possibly upgrading again? I recently bought an Samsung 30" HDTV, but it's still a tube set. I did this for several reasons...first, the price. While the price might be much lower than what you will pay for LCD or Plasma...the quality is not necessarily that far off. I know others might tell you differently, but those people spending thousands on those sets are going to be sorry in a few years because they aren't compatable and the technology is not the best of the best just yet.