Does Anyone Own a Tube CD or DVD Player? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Does Anyone Own a Tube CD or DVD Player?

EdwardGein
04-23-2006, 06:40 PM
With barely an exception, I keep reading how fantastic tube CD players (not truly sure about DVD players) sound & if anyone owns one, I'm curious as to your opinion if the sound is superior or not. These things seem to sell for alot of money.

Jim Clark
04-24-2006, 04:26 AM
I've been running the Jolida 100a for about 6 months now. Gorgeous unit built with no op amps and two 12AX7 tubes for the analog output stage. I haven't done any tube rolling yet but when time allows I'm interested in trying some Mullard or EH tubes.

Whether or not it's superior is going to be in the ear of the beholder. To me, it's far better than anything else I've listened to. The most surprising aspect was that I expected to lose a touch of detail in exchange for the smoothness I gained. In blind tests vs. a Marantz CDP I use in another system, the Jolida offers a great deal more detail. YMMV.

For the price I don't think I can find a better CDP for anything less than a solid 1000+ player. The new Rega looks promising but has too many bugs and quirks to make that a viable option for me at this point. Who ever heard of a CDP with bugs anyway?

jc

EdwardGein
04-24-2006, 05:41 AM
How much did the Jolida 100A cost you? Did you buy one of the modified ones See www.underwoodhifi.com/mod_jolida.html#Anchor-JD-28247 Will any of these modifications actually improve the sound of the 100A? Does yours have Sovtek 12AX7EH vacuum tubes & 24 Bit DAC with latest Philips and Burr-Brown chip sets? All the reviews I read were ecstatic about this till I read this thread at an interesting site called head-fi (component section) www4.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?p=1097101#post1097101