AH Njoe TJoeb problem, please help an idiot [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : AH Njoe TJoeb problem, please help an idiot

cod
04-22-2006, 03:43 PM
Hi there

I have owned one of these fine TUbe output CD players for about 4 years now, all was well up until this morning and i would be very appreciative of any insights you may have. I bought a CD, that i played this morning and i could only hear the right channel.

Now stupidly I took the cover off thinking it was the tubes, that one had gone. So i got an old pair of Philips tubes that come with the CD player, and tried them, still no luck!.

on the control board and im no expert at these things, but there are 2 DIL Burr brown opamps, set parralel to one another, i thought one of those might be the problem. There was also another small chip of the same size i think is the DAC chip. I took them out reseated them, changed them round.

Maybe stupidly the wrong way round, the opamps have 8 pins 1- 4 5 - 8 I turned them round only because I forgot which way they went round. I usually do a little diagram before undertaking such work, but alas i didnt, fool!. Well the thing is it was the bloody Cd that was at fault. Overjoyed when I played my Meddle Album, In perfect stereo, was really happy. But to my horror... now at low levels i get a distortion sound and a slight ghosting of a high pitch sine wave around the 6th octave of a piano.

It cuts out after certain low passages break into higher volume. but ambient music is awash with this distorted tone. I know the tubes all work, I know the fuse is good, Im just wondering if i have damaged the opamps, or the circuit board. and to be really stupid i turned the DAC chip round the wrong way, (I wish i had done my usual ritual of making notes)

heaven help me if i have , i have to send it back to holland to be fixed if its not a straight replacement

so guys any insight would be much appreciated
Andy

Fergymunster
05-13-2006, 05:35 AM
Hi there