my problem is i did not like the B&W sub offerings i heard
i have to drive quite far to hear a rel sub mated with the cm1's
and i won't have time to do that for a few weeks

i am not really a newbie but i have never had a sub hooked up
to my system nor have i ever had an av receiver

my system consists of an amp and a preamp

from what i read i think i need a sub with high pass and low
pass connections to provide the lowest frequencies and to relieve
my minimonitors from low bass and midbass duty?? am i right ??

how would i hook this type of sub up tp my preamp as i only
have one set of unbalanced connections
although i do have a tape monitor connection if that helps
but no subwoofer out or bass managemant capabilities or even
tone controls on my preamp
i only have one set of left and right outputs on my amp also

can this be done effectively?????

thanks for any help or suggestions

Dharris
04-19-2006, 12:33 PM
I use and recommend Def Techs Pro sub 100. Excellent choice for music without breaking the bank.

terraform
04-19-2006, 01:41 PM
Well, hopefully someone will chime in about your preamp concern. I know many subs offer inline crossover via speaker cables, but hopefully there is a better way.

In regards to subwoofers, value minded I like the HSU VTF-3 MK2, $700 new. http://www.hsuresearch.com/

I have the smaller one, VTF-2 MK2, but recommend the big brother if you can afford the difference. Bass is clean, fast, and flat. In my case my room is the weakest link. But HSU is very helpful in room placement and suggestions. I was able to email a picture of my room with dimensions and HSU made a few recommendations for placement. Also, "crawling for bass" in the How To section is helpful.

How big is your room?

Woochifer
04-19-2006, 09:23 PM