Super Newbie Here, help with 1.2k budget [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Super Newbie Here, help with 1.2k budget

rukawa11
04-15-2006, 05:58 PM
hello guys, im really new to the game. i really really love music and sounds and i just want to be able to make the best setup i can with around 1.2k budget preferably less if same performance as 1.2k range. i'm looking at what the best a/v receiver, sub and speakers system i can setup and maybe a cd player and amp if i can fit in that budget. i don't think i need help with gettin a dvd player. also i have no idea what amps do, and would it really help to get one. basically right now im just goin thru the highest ratings thru audioreview. but theres so many things not on sale anymore or too expensive. also im in a 2 bedroom apartment would it be overkill to spend that much and when i do spend which one should i use the most money on. sorry i know theres a lot of questions, thx guys.

paul_pci
04-15-2006, 07:16 PM
Roughly, you can get a decent receiver (read Yamaha) for around $400 and then you can spend the remainder of the budget on a 5-speaker surround sound set up and I'd forgo the sub until you can save a separate budget for them, as quality subs begin at around $500 or so. So you should audition what you can afford for the speakers such as Polk, Energy, Infinity, Paradigm, etc and see which speakers sound best for you.

rukawa11
04-15-2006, 08:54 PM
thx a lot for the reply.

superpanavision70mm
04-16-2006, 12:03 AM
Here is perhaps a suggestion...

Pioneer 5.1/61 receiver with 110W/Channel ($250-300)
PSB Image T45's ($499/pair)
Athena Technologies Center Channel ($100)
Polk Bookshelf Surrounds (150/pair)
Yamaha or Athena Sub ($150-200)