Talking speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Talking speakers

Armando
04-01-2006, 09:33 AM
Dudes-
kay, dumb question, I know, But I need to find out real soon.
What are the differences (NOT technical) between box and planar speakers in terms of the way they sound? I've been told a hundred times, go out and listen to them and you'll know, but I want to know what you guys think is better and why for stuff like jazz, rock and bluegrass.....I want awesome midrange more than anything else.
Thanks guru dudes...:5:

emack27
04-14-2006, 04:13 PM
The technical term in describing the difference is that they have a larger soundstage.
In laymans terms lets say a cone speaker reproduces the sound of a cat's meow. The sound received by you to be would that of a 1ft. tall cat. The sound reproduced by a planar speaker, since the speaker has more surface area, would be that of a cat 4 ft. tall.

This is just my opion and I am not an expert by any means.

Florian
04-14-2006, 05:31 PM
Well the above "technical description" is severly lacking.

Hit me up on PM with a phone number and i can explain to you the difference. I wrote an article but i guess not many people read it.

On a short note, to me the difference is between music and noise!

JoeE SP9
04-14-2006, 08:46 PM
Dudes-
What are the differences (NOT technical) between box and planar speakers in terms of the way they sound? I've been told a hundred times, go out and listen to them and you'll know, but I want to know what you guys think is better and why for stuff like jazz, rock and bluegrass.....I want awesome midrange more than anything else.