What's your method for cleaning used LP's? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What's your method for cleaning used LP's?

Zaurusman
03-29-2006, 07:32 PM
Hi all,

I received a fairly rare double-LP album today from the early 80's, and consider myself lucky because the records only have minor scratches and no warpage. But cleaning them ... that's another story. They're filthy with years of dust et al in the grooves. I've unleashed the Last cleaner on them -- three times. Couldn't count the number of revolutions passed under my carbon fiber brush, cranking the speed to 78 rpm on the table for a minute or so. Still only 70% clean; a couple more applications of the Last to go after I re-clean an applicator or two.

I'm new to analog and don't know the cleaning tricks. How do you all clean your own heavily-soiled used finds that can't be passed up but are dying for some tender loving care?

TIA!

Zaurusman

Bernd
03-30-2006, 09:11 AM
Hi all,

I received a fairly rare double-LP album today from the early 80's, and consider myself lucky because the records only have minor scratches and no warpage. But cleaning them ... that's another story. They're filthy with years of dust et al in the grooves. I've unleashed the Last cleaner on them -- three times. Couldn't count the number of revolutions passed under my carbon fiber brush, cranking the speed to 78 rpm on the table for a minute or so. Still only 70% clean; a couple more applications of the Last to go after I re-clean an applicator or two.

I'm new to analog and don't know the cleaning tricks. How do you all clean your own heavily-soiled used finds that can't be passed up but are dying for some tender loving care?

TIA!

Zaurusman

Hi and welcome to Vinyl Heaven. If you're in it for the long haul invest in a RCM. You will do eventualy anyway. Only a vacuum cleaning machine will get the dirt out of the grooves, you're waisting your time otherwise.