Sun Kil Moon [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Sun Kil Moon

Scooter329
01-24-2004, 12:35 AM
Hey all. I'm a newbie poster(I've actually been coming to this sight for info for a month or two but never posted before) and I hope y'all don't mind if I join in on occasion. I'm trying to expand my horizons a bit musically and so I've been reading past posts combing for ideas on new music to try. I'm a twenty-six year old student(yeah still) and I'm trying to venture out of my same old Dave Matthews, Coldplay, etc. rut(I realize that everyone is probably shuddering at these names but what can I say, it's not all I listen too). I'd like to thank y'all for indirectly giving me the names of some different musicians to give a listen to. One of my newer purchases is the Sun Kil Moon cd Ghosts of the Great Highway. I had to search around a bit as I'm not really into online shopping but I found it at a Borders in my area. I've listened to it through a couple of times and I'm really starting to dig it. I heard Kozelek's music described as Neil Young-esque a couple of places so I wasn't too sure about it(nothing against NY but if I want his style I'll get it from him). So far I'm liking Kozelek's style: Carry me Ohio is a good song and I also really like the last song, Pancho Villa I believe. All in all, a pretty good cd start to finish I'd say. Was wondering if anyone had listened to Kozelek's former band Red House Painters? I heard them described as rather depressing? If I like Sun Kil Moon I wonder if I would like them. Anyhow, hope everyone has a good one.

Scooter

audiobill
01-24-2004, 05:20 AM
Welcome aboard, Scooter.

The Red House Painters are one of my absolute faves.

All of their musical output is very good. I am particularly fond of their latest, 2001, effort "Old Ramon". They are definitely worth seeking out.

Btw, I too started on this board by reading the posts and threads for a month and, eventually posted -- that was 4 years ago.