Maggies or No Maggies? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Maggies or No Maggies?

safeharbor
03-20-2006, 10:10 AM
:confused5: Hi Folks, Newbie Here! I have a decent audio setup, but have been considering purchasing a good pair of Maggies to go with my equipment. I currently have a Rotel RC-1070 Preamp and Threshold S/300 Series II Amplifier hooked up with some other Peripherals to a very good pair of the original Canton Ergo Passive loudspeakers. The S/300 II supplies 150 WPC Stasis Power. Do you think that the Maggies would be worth a listen? Thanks!

sharper
03-20-2006, 10:42 AM
Maggies are always worth a listen. You can see for yourself why they're (among) the most popular high-end loudspeakers. Your amp is great and is what Magnepan used to use in their demos at CES, etc. I've never owned Maggies but do like them a lot. I've owned two S/300 II amps as well as the SA/3. I think the S/300 II is one of the best amps of all time - especially when it comes to timbre...a flute, for example, sounds like a real flute with that amp. I remember that amp as the definition of neutral (without being clinical). Just make sure you have the necessary room in your listening space for whichever model you're going to listen to.

Glen B
03-20-2006, 11:35 AM
:confused5: Hi Folks, Newbie Here! I have a decent audio setup, but have been considering purchasing a good pair of Maggies to go with my equipment. I currently have a Rotel RC-1070 Preamp and Threshold S/300 Series II Amplifier hooked up with some other Peripherals to a very good pair of the original Canton Ergo Passive loudspeakers. The S/300 II supplies 150 WPC Stasis Power. Do you think that the Maggies would be worth a listen? Thanks!

If you look just 6 posts below, there is an excellent discussion on Maggies ("Magnepan - Still Good ?"). Maggies are definitely worth a listen. I wish love to own a pair but I just don't have the room for proper placement.

squeegy200
03-20-2006, 05:19 PM