Are Bose 301 Speakers the best in there price range? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Are Bose 301 Speakers the best in there price range?

ChrisY
03-19-2006, 01:25 PM
Im interested in purchasing a pair of bookshelf speakers as fronts for a low budget (cheap) small HT system. I found a place here where I can purchase a pair Polk R30s for $120.00 a pair brand new though there not bookshelf speakers as I prefer they'll still work just fine. My neighbor insist that Bose 301s are a better choice and are the best speakers you can find in there price range anywhere. Im just a proud amateur looking for decent sound.

JohnMichael
03-19-2006, 01:39 PM
Im interested in purchasing a pair of bookshelf speakers as fronts for a low budget (cheap) small HT system. I found a place here where I can purchase a pair Polk R30s for $120.00 a pair brand new though there not bookshelf speakers as I prefer they'll still work just fine. My neighbor insist that Bose 301s are a better choice and are the best speakers you can find in there price range anywhere. Im just a proud amateur looking for decent sound.

ChrisY listen to your ears and not your neighbor. Bose 301's are one type of speaker and sound but there are many good speakers in the same price range. Polk makes a few as do Paradigm, Infinity, Epos and Athena. www.audioadvisor.com has the Energy C-3 reduced to $299.95 a pair and they would also be a better speaker than Bose. Of course if you like the Bose sound by all means. Listen to as many speakers in your price range as you can.

N. Abstentia
03-19-2006, 01:39 PM
Your neigbor sounds very ignorant. The more you read and listen, the more you'll find out that Bose is not a good choice in ANY price range.

I'd look into these first:
http://audioadvisor.com/store/productdetail.asp?sku=ATHASB1%2E2&product_name=Audition%20B1%2E2%20Speakers%20-%20Black,%20Pair

You should also look at the used market.

ChrisY
03-19-2006, 02:01 PM
Thank you kindly fellas.