Where to start [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Where to start

ssarm@mac.com
03-05-2006, 07:40 PM
I have a pair of sennheiser hd280 pro headphones that i love. I'm a huge huge music guy. it's time for me to buck up and get a nice speaker system. I don't know that much about what's out there though.

I was hoping you could recommend some stuff for me, give me a place to start. I'm a college student, looking for a serious system. I'm on a college student budget though, so I would only be able to spend $400 the most. What kind of equipment should i be looking at, primarily for listening to music in my bedroom at college and home.

funnyhat
03-05-2006, 10:42 PM
For speakers I would suggest the paradigm atoms, for their price (I think 160-170), they sound really great. The best little speaker I have heard for anywhere near that price, and probably a bit more. Others would probably have good suggestions for an amp and source, I don't know as much about those.

matt39
03-06-2006, 04:31 AM