Need help restoring KLH towers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need help restoring KLH towers

Rudy2
01-22-2004, 12:33 PM
Hello,
I am a newbie so hope this isn't an old topic. I would like to restore my old KLH tower speakers. They are called "Research Ten" model. The 12" woofers are disintegrating and the domed mid-range are sometimes crackly. They used to be excellent sounding so I think it is worth the effort. Where can I find replacement speakers that are affordable and at least equal in performance to the originals? I can send pics if anyone would like to see what I am dealing with. Thanks in advance.

Randy

This Guy
01-22-2004, 01:41 PM
First take out the drivers and see if it has any specs on it. You want to know the sensitivity. Give me a price range to work with as well. I find it very unlikely KLH will have replacement parts for these speakers if they are old. Cause the KLH twenty years ago is almost a completely different company today. A great site for replacements is partsexpress.com which is the site I will look for drivers for you. If you have the phone number for KLH, i guess it wouldn't hurt to call and ask them.

-Joey

poneal
01-22-2004, 01:55 PM
I agree with ThisGuy. If you want to match the sound closely to what it was before you need to get the specs. Another option is to take out the drivers and send them in for refoaming and testing. There was a post some time ago about a person who has done the refoam and testing and was very pleased with the results. I think madison sound does refoaming.

Geoffcin
01-22-2004, 03:56 PM
Hello,