how to power cerwin vegas? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : how to power cerwin vegas?

knight777
02-25-2006, 10:06 AM
Need advice on how to get the most out of my new cerwin vega clsc 12 floor speakers. I am totally new to all the latest audio equipment, have had the same system for 15 years, a tehnics component system su-g91 receiver, eq, rca cd player, and now my new cerwin vegas. I listen to my music very loud and my technics shuts down at higher volumes. Seems like I dont have enough power to push these new monster speakers. Thinking maybe I might need to go with an amp and a preamp because all the A/v receivers don't have enough power to handle these babies and also will a dj amp do the job such as a crown,gem sound, pyramid, or pro pyle? the cerwin veas handle 300 watts each. I am also on a budget and will be buying from ebay. Anybody have any ideas for ground shaking perfomance?

Scott Carr
02-25-2006, 12:54 PM
Hello, I just ordered a pair of Cerwin Vega V-15F's. I will be powering them with a high current NAD C270 at 120 watts a side(up to 450 watts dynamic power into 2 ohms). The key here is high current. I would look at NAD, Rotel, or another less expensive alternative is AudioSource at http://www.audiosource.net/amplifiers.html.

royphil345
02-25-2006, 01:53 PM
Many of the other Cerwin Vega speakers are rated at 4 ohms. Can't find specs on the Classics, but since you're having problems I'm guessing they might be a 4 ohm load which will shut down or damage many receivers. They are very efficient speakers. Would probably play louder than your old speakers given the same amount of power otherwise.

The 300 watt rating is peak power. Shouldn't be any need for more than a 150-200 watt RMS (continuous power) amp. Think you'd probably be happy with a quality amp in the 80-100 watt range as long as it could handle a 4 ohm load. Most separate amps will.