New To Home Theater - A Few Questions [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : New To Home Theater - A Few Questions

JimN
01-22-2004, 09:52 AM
I recently purchased a NAD T752 A/V Receiver. I'm new to A/V Receivers, and as such, am not very familiar with all the A/V inputs/outputs, analog/digital, etc. At this point, I am driving only two main speakers (Dynaudio Audience 52's) in stereo mode. I have a few questions/potential problems. I've consulted the manual and the NAD website FAQ, but I can't seem to find the answers I'm looking for. I realize that these questions are probably pretty specific to my equipment, but I'm hoping that someone might be able to help me.

I hooked up a VCR to the "VCR Input/Output Section", using composite RCA A/V cables. The input portion seems to work fine, as I can view tapes. The output portion does not seem to be working, though. For example: I have a satellite receiver connected to the "Satellite Input", using an S-video cable and composite RCA audio cables. If I have the receiver switched to Satellite and I hit record on the VCR, the VCR records audio but no video (all I see is a blank blue screen). The correct input is selected on the VCR. I have the cables configured correctly - Receiver VCR Output to VCR Input / Receiver VCR Input to VCR Output. I believe that the inputs are configured correctly - Satellite Audio & Video both set to Satellite, with digital input selection defeated / VCR Audio & Video both set to VCR, with digital input selection (if any) defeated. Any idea why I cannot record video on the VCR?