UPS for a 50" DLP [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : UPS for a 50" DLP

sinergy
02-11-2006, 11:10 AM
HI everyone im new to the AV world. I know computers been working with them for over 10 years so when I hear ppl are using a UPS's for big screen TV's this intrigues me. As everybody know its Tax time and am looking to Buy a 50" DLP or Big Screen I know power condition is a must but never really put much thought in it. We use APC Symmetra PX to power our data centers so I convinced APC makes a great product. But from reading through the posts looks like the opinion is mix between UPS's & Surge Protectors. I guess my first question is.

1. UPS or Surge Protector ?
2. APC makes UPS's that have 4 outlets & battery backup and 4 Surge Protection Outlets with 390 Watts / 650 VA. Would that be enough to power a 230 watts Big Screen ?

3. And how many joules of protection is good with out overkill ?

E-Stat
02-11-2006, 04:45 PM
HI everyone im new to the AV world. I know computers been working with them for over 10 years so when I hear ppl are using a UPS's for big screen TV's this intrigues me.
As an IT professional myself, I use an UPS for my computer. Why? If the power should go out or brown out, I want a few minutes time to be able to shut down the computer allowing it to flush its memory cache and avoid data loss. There is no such need with a TV. Is it important to you to be able to watch a program for an additional ten minutes or so until the power comes back on?

I do agree, however, that surge protection is essential for protection and use a Monster HTS-3500 with my 61" Samsung DLP monitor, cable box, and DVD player. The joule rating is not really critical as most monitors don't draw that much current. I plug high current devices such as receivers, powered subs, and power amplifiers directly into the wall.

rw

LMB
02-11-2006, 06:37 PM
Also, check out Panamax I prefer it over Monster
Beware of the rainbow effect on DLP's
Good luck

sinergy