Another magnetic shielding question [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Another magnetic shielding question

Century L100
01-31-2006, 10:27 AM
I've been reading posts having to do with non-magnetically shielded speakers used close to CRT direct view TV sets and I have a question that I haven't seen answered, at least not directly. Namely: If you have a speaker located close to your TV -- about 15" away -- and you don't see any color distortion, should you just not worry about the issue?

That happens to be the case with my oldie-but-goody JBL L40s, one of which has to go near the TV. The picture looks just fine with the speaker located immediately to one side. Because I'm into music only, the JBLs are almost never in use while the TV is turned on, though.

The tech data in the owners manual quotes the magnet in the 10" woofer at 2.8 lb and 8500 gauss, and the 1" dome tweeter has a 1.5 lb magnet and 14,000 gauss. I'm not an engineer, but that sounds like a pretty powerful magnetic field!

This is my first post on this forum, so excuse if I'm in the wrong place. Thanks in advance for any advice

jneutron
01-31-2006, 10:42 AM
I've been reading posts having to do with non-magnetically shielded speakers used close to CRT direct view TV sets and I have a question that I haven't seen answered, at least not directly. Namely: If you have a speaker located close to your TV -- about 15" away -- and you don't see any color distortion, should you just not worry about the issue?

That happens to be the case with my oldie-but-goody JBL L40s, one of which has to go near the TV. The picture looks just fine with the speaker located immediately to one side. Because I'm into music only, the JBLs are almost never in use while the TV is turned on, though.