good setup DVD for new Plasma [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : good setup DVD for new Plasma

venkman
01-23-2006, 10:10 PM
I was wondering if someone could recommend a good setup DVD to properly adjust my new Plasma? I went to Best Buy and Circuit City but they had no idea what I was talking about and I looked around but couldn't find one. Thanks

paul_pci
01-24-2006, 11:15 AM
I was wondering if someone could recommend a good setup DVD to properly adjust my new Plasma? I went to Best Buy and Circuit City but they had no idea what I was talking about and I looked around but couldn't find one. Thanks

Yeah, those places are useless for that purpose. Go with DVE: Digital Video Essentials. I got mine through amazon.com.

jdag
01-26-2006, 11:29 AM
Yeah, those places are useless for that purpose. Go with DVE: Digital Video Essentials. I got mine through amazon.com.

I am a complete novice. What do these calibration disks do? Is there an advantage of using these over the test screens built into my DVD player? Thanks, John

edtyct
01-26-2006, 01:23 PM
jdag,

What test screens does your DVD player incorporate? The calibration disks allow you to optimize your TV's user controls for color, hue (tint), contrast, brightness, and sharpness (picture), since they usually enter your home way out of whack, often in ways that detract from a more enlightened viewing experience (and sometimes even harm the TV). The disks also aid in setting up your surround-sound system, often more comprehensively than your receiver or processor can. They aren't expensive, and they are a good source of information. It takes only a little time to get a lot of benefit, but the disks also provide the option of going deeper and exploring other facets of display technology that may not be obvious to the naked eye or intellect. Some people get off on this stuff; other people just want to watch the movie.

Ed

jdag
01-26-2006, 02:47 PM