Mirage [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Mirage

tem
01-19-2006, 06:08 AM
I am a newbie and seek your experts' views on speakers.

I went for audition the following components and speakers:

AYRE-CX 7 CD Player

AYRE K-5 Preamp

AYRE V-5X Power Amp

Martin Logan Summit Electrostatic Speakers

I did not find much improvement in terms of dynamics as compared to my present Mirage bookshelf speakers to justify me to spend on the new system.Maybe I am new to hear the difference.

What puzzle me when he associated that Mirage speakers with Bose and hope u guys able to share your views on this.

Tks

Mark111867
01-19-2006, 08:12 AM
I really can't comment on any of the gear that you auditioned. I can comment on Mirage, though. I have had a pair of Mirage M-290's since the mid 90's. They are a fine speaker. I'm not so sure that I would put Bose and Mirage in the same category. In my opinion, Mirage is a definite step up from Bose. As for not noticing an improvement in dynamics between the two speakers, well, this is clearly a personal preference. If you are happy with your Mirage speakers and don't think that the extra money spent is worth it, then stick with what you like. Are you able to audition your Mirage speakers with the gear that you are interested in? A side by side audition between the two speakers would give you a better idea of the differences between the speakers. Good luck.

Feanor
01-19-2006, 10:14 AM
I am a newbie and seek your experts' views on speakers.

I went for audition the following components and speakers:

AYRE-CX 7 CD Player

AYRE K-5 Preamp

AYRE V-5X Power Amp

Martin Logan Summit Electrostatic Speakers

I did not find much improvement in terms of dynamics as compared to my present Mirage bookshelf speakers to justify me to spend on the new system.Maybe I am new to hear the difference.

Tks