help me choose my mains [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : help me choose my mains

agidol
01-14-2006, 08:47 AM
Hi, I'm an audio novice currently own Bose 701 Series 2 floorstanders as mains and I'm thinking about upgrading them (somewhat influenced by Bose bashers I guess...lol)

Unfortunetely I don't have much room in budget (max $600 so I'm looking more into used sets) yet I want to be sure it sounds better than my Bose. I had already compared my set against Infinity Alpha 50 and Yamaha NS777 and my speakers actually sounded better with wider imaging and bass so I had to return them. My current cadidates are:

Pinnacle Gold Towers
or
Infinity Beta 50
or
Paradigm Studio 20 - I don't mind bookshelves as long as they can fill my 23*12 living room.
or any other in that price range you want to recommend

Any help is highly appreciated!!

Mr Peabody
01-15-2006, 11:06 PM
Out of the 3 you listed I'd choose the Paradigm. I haven't liked the Infinity I've heard in recent years. They seem very unbalanced but that could be because they expect you to use a sub. But I think it was the Alphas I auditioned and sent back as well. The speaker actually had good bass response, it's just that the tweeter drowned it out, that's why I say, unbalanced. I haven't heard Pennacle. It could be you are just comfortable with your Bose, if you are happy with them, keep them. You shouldn't change over what anyone else thinks.

Bare in mind that most speakers that come right out of the box need some break in time, so don't make a hasty decision. Break in will vary from brand to brand. Either let your CD player go on repeat or turn your tuner on and let the speakers play while you are at work. After a day or so of doing this you should be able to tell the sound is improving or not.