want a new system! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : want a new system!

wolfeinstein
01-10-2006, 12:22 AM
Hi guys! Im new to video and audio! My question is i have $10,000 for a new theatre system i want a nice tv min 42 inches 50 is better, and a killer audio system can you guys point me in the right direction.
My living room is 30x30

edtyct
01-10-2006, 06:26 AM
If you're planning to use anywhere from 1/2 to all of the available room as seating distance, and you really have $10,000 in you budget, you should consider front projection. This strategy will take you out of the realm of plug and play; you'll have to choose and locate a screen, mount or otherwise house a projector, and control room lighting for ordinary viewing much more religiously than you would with a big plasma or rear projector. But the payoff in pure spectacle will be palpable. The question is whether you want to transform your livingroom into more of a theatre than a sitting room or casual viewing area (wives tend to have definite opinions about this issue). So far as what projector to choose, I'd go with the Sony Cineza SXRD, but numerous alternatives exist if it's too expensive or doesn't strike your fancy. Check out Westcott's pics of his front-projection setup for an example of how elegant a theatre can look in your livingroom.

Whoops. I didn't mean the Cineza, which is Sony's LCD projector, and not half-bad itself, but the twice + expensive VPL-VW100. It may exceed your budget.

topspeed
01-10-2006, 09:44 AM
What's more important to you, the video or the audio? Ed's suggestion of the SXRD is an excellent choice, but also a very expensive one. One, in fact, that will easily chew-up your entire budget :eek:. One thing is for sure, with room that size, you really should look into a front projector, just not necessarily the Sony. Ed and Robert are two of the most knowledgeable here when it comes to this format, and I'm sure you'll get some great rec's from either.